The sheer scale and complexity of the battles of the 1st World War presented new problems over the award of Battle Honours. Battles lasted for weeks or months rather than the day or two of earlier actions. The area covered and number of troops involved, particularly in the major battles of the Western Front, eclipsed anything previously seen. With both the scale and widespread geographical areas of Regimental involvement, the number of Battle Honours that could fairly be claimed was obviously going to be too great to be accommodated on the Regimental Colour on which all pre-1914 Honours were carried. The solution adopted for the Western Front was to award a Battle Honour to cover the major operation and then additional Battle Honours for the supporting actions which contributed to the operation. An example is the Second Battle of Ypres in 1915 which was marked with the Honour Ypres 1915 (to differentiate from Ypres 1914, 1917 and 1918 all of which were awarded as separate Honours) with four supporting Honours, Gravenstafel, St Julien, Frezenberg and Bellewaarde. A further change was that, for the first time, Battle Honours were awarded for a defeat, thus both “Mons” and “Retreat from Mons” appear among those won by the Regiment. Once the list of Battle Honours was agreed by the Honours and Distinctions Committee of the War Office, each Regiment was allowed to select ten, from the total of those awarded, to be carried on the then King’s Colour. These would appear in bold type in the Army List with the remaining in ordinary type.

The Regiment was awarded seventy-nine Battle Honours out of a total of one hundred and sixty eight that were designated. These covered all the campaigns and battles and the many operational theatres in which the Service Battalions of the Regiment served. A Regimental Committee then made recommendations to the War Office for the ten that were to be carried on the King’s Colour. Of these seven were from the Western Front and three, Struma 1918, Gallipoli 1915-16 and Palestine 1917-18 represented the other major operational areas where the battalions of the Regiment served The full list, with the battalions that served there, is shown below. The ten Battle Honours subsequently emblazoned on the King’s Colour are shown in heavy type and capitals. The supporting actions for the main battles have been slightly inset and, where they cover the main battle over a number of years such as Ypres 1915, 1917 and 1918 have been placed within the relevant year with the main action bracketed for guidance:

Battle HonourBattalion (s)
Retreat from Mons2nd
MARNE 1914 2nd
MARNE 1918 8th, 9th, 13th (for supporting actions see below)
Aisne 19142nd
La Bassee 19142nd
Neuve Chapelle8th
YPRES 19151st, 9th
Gravenstafel1st, 9th
St Julien1st, 9th
Frezenburg1st, 9th
Bellewaarde1st, 2nd, 9th
YPRES 19172nd, 8th, 9th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 15th, 16th, 17th (for supporting actions see below)
YPRES 191811th, 12th, 17th
Festubert 19158th
LOOS11th, 12th, 17th
SOMME 1916 2nd, 8th, 9th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 15th, 16th, 17th
Albert 1916, 191811th, 12th, 15th, 16th (for 1918 Battalions see below)
Bazentin2nd, 11th, 12th, 15th, 16th, 17th
Pozieres13th, 15th, 16th
Le Transloy11th, 12th, 13th
Ancre Heights5th/6th
Ancre 1916, 19182nd, 5th/6th, 8th, 9th (for 1918 Battalions see below)
SOMME 1918 2nd, 4th, 5th/6th, 7th, 8th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 15th, 16th, 17th (for supporting actions see below)
ARRAS 19172nd, 8th, 9th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 15th, 16th
Scarpe 1917, 19182nd, 8th, 9th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 15th,16th (for 1918 Battalions see below)
Arleux2nd, 15th, 16th
ARRAS 1918(See Somme 1918)
(Ypres 1917)(See above)
Pilckem8th, 9th, 13th
Langemarck 19178th, 9th, 13th
Menin Road2nd, 8th, 9th, 11th, 12th
Polygon Wood2nd
Poelcappelle11th, 12th, 17th
Passchendaele 2nd, 8th, 9th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 15th, 16th
Cambrai 19178th, 9th
(Somme 1918)(See above)
St Quentin2nd, 8th, 9th, 11th, 12th, 15th, 16th
Rosieres8th, 9th
Arras 19182nd, 4th, 5th/6th, 7th, 8th, 13th
Ancre 19182nd, 4th, 5th/6th, 7th, 8th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 15th, 16th, 17th
LYS2nd, 8th, 11th, 12th, 15th, 16th
Estaires2nd, 8th, 15th, 16th
Messines 191811th, 12th
Hazebrouck2nd, 8th
Bailleul11th, 12th, 15th, 16th
Kemmel11th, 12th, 15th, 16th
(Marne 1918)(See above)
Soissonnais-Ourcq9th, 13th
Bapaume 19182nd, 5th/6th, 8th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 17th
Albert 19182nd, 4th, 5th/6th, 7th
(Scarpe 1918)4th, 7th, 8th
Drocourt-Queant4th, 7th
Hindenburg Line2nd, 4th, 5th/6th, 7th, 11th, 12th, 15th, 16th
Canal du Nord2nd, 4th, 7th
St Quentin Canal2nd, 5th/6th, 11th, 12th, 15th, 16th
(Ypres 1918)(See above)
Courtrai11th, 12th, 17th
Selle2nd, 8th
France and Flanders 1914-181st, 2nd, 4th, 5th/6th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 15th, 16th, 17th
Macedonia 1915-181st
Helles4th, 5th, 7th
Landing at Helles5th
Krithia4th/7th, 5th
Scimitar Hill5th
GALLIPOLI 1915-164th, 5th, 7th
Romani4th, 7th
Egypt 1915-164th, 5th, 6th, 7th
Gaza4th, 7th
El Mughar4th, 7th
Nebi Samwil4th, 7th
Jaffa4th, 7th
PALESTINE 1917-184th, 7th
Archangel 1918-192/10th